MASTER
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83820411792New York, NY, United States
 
 

Spicy Gingerbread Cocktail Hour

By Future US (other events)

Wednesday, December 9 2020 3:00 PM 3:45 PM
 
ABOUT ABOUT

Time: 3 - 3:45 pm ET | 2 - 2:45pm CT  | 12:noon -12:45pm PT |

8pm - 8:45pm UK time  

What: We would love you to join us for an interactive session to shake and make a simple but delicious seasonal cocktail (or mocktail) with Food & Drinks Director Elisa and special guest, award-winning barman Dan, as we celebrate the global launch of woman&home.com.

Elisa’s Biog: A chef and journalist who oversees all of Future’s Womens Lifestyle vertical food content, Elisa trained under British TV chef Jamie Oliver and has worked at some of London’s top Michelin starred kitchens. Elisa has cooked for Oprah Winfrey, Sir Paul McCartney and at Number 10 Downing Street. 

Dan’s Biog: Drinks giant Dan - he’s 6’6”! - has worked in hospitality for more than 25 years, as a Brand Ambassador for Four Roses Bourbon, Wild Turkey Bourbon and Havana Club. Half American, Dan has spent many years living on the west coast. In 2012 he opened NOLA, a New Orleans inspired bar in East London, internationally shortlisted for Best New Bar, and more recently he opened Stillwater, a bar and restaurant specialising in cocktails and Southern States food. Dan is happiest behind the bar, mixing drinks and telling stories.

Items and ingredients needed

Spicy Gingerbread Cocktail 

Products needed:

  • Wicker basket to hold products & ingredients
  • Padding or eco-friendly shredded paper 
  • Low ball/rocks glass 
  • Cocktail shaker & strainer
  • Measuring jigger (in oz not ml)
  • Long spoon
  • Vegetable peeler ( Y-shaped)

Ingredients needed:

  • Bourbon (need 2oz) 
  • Monin Gingerbread Syrup* (need 1/2 oz) 
  • Angostura bitters** (need 2 dashes)
  • 1 orange or sweetened dried orange slices (for garnish) 
  • Four or five cubes of ice ready in your freezer
  • Mini Candy Canes or lollipops (for garnish)

*Available at Amazon.  Option to substitute a flavoured sugar syrup such as gingerbread, hazelnut or caramel (preferable over fruit flavors),sold at coffee shops. 

** Available at Amazon, Walmart, Target.  Option to make your own https://www.bittersclub.com/pages/substitutes-for-angostura-bitters

FOR NO-ALCOHOL DRINK

  • Any tropical juice plus pure vanilla extract

Cocktail Method:

Fill a rocks glass or tumbler 3.4 full with cubed ice, add the syrup, bourbon and bitters and stir with a bar spoon for 15-20 seconds. Taste for balance, and stir. Fill the glass with more cubed ice and garnish with a twist of orange peel